Awards and Honors
  • The Brennan Medal

The Brennan Medal, established by the Reverend Patrick H. Brennan, S.J., College Class of 1867, is awarded annually to the student majoring in theology who has demonstrated the highest proficiency in this field. The theology faculty vote to choose the Brennan Medal awardee each year.

  • Theta Alpha Kappa Honor Society

The Theta Alpha Kappa National Honor Society for Theology and Religious Studies was founded in 1977 to encourage scholarly excellence in the field. There is a yearly induction that takes place each spring. The criteria for the TAK award nominations are as follows:

  • 15 credit hours in theology;
  • a QPA of 3.5 in those credits;
  • a cumulative QPA of 3.0;
  • standing in the top 35% of the class.
  • The Emily K. Arndt Award

This award was established in 2010 in honor of our late colleague and is given annually.

Professional Associations

American Academy of Religion.  Founded in 1909, the AAR is the world’s largest association of academics who research or teach topics related to religion.

Association for the Sociology of Religion.  The Association for the Sociology of Religion (ASR) is an international scholarly association that seeks to advance theory and research in the sociology of religion.

Religious Research Association.  The Religious Research Association is composed of academic and religious professionals working at the intersection of research and practical religious activities.

Society for the Scientific Study of Religion.  The Society for the Scientific Study of Religion was founded in 1949 by scholars in religion and social science. Its purpose is to stimulate and communicate significant scientific research on religious institutions and religious experience.

Programs and Centers
Libraries and Databases
Web Resources